Faculty/Staff


Ryan Fong

Dr. Ryan Fong

Associate Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7046
Office: Humphrey House, room 209
Email: ryan.fong@kzoo.edu

Ryan’s Page

Dr. Fong is the Director for the
Women, Gender, & Sexuality Program


Marin Heinritz

Marin Heinritz

Associate Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.5734
Office: Humphrey House, room 21
Email: marin.heinritz@kzoo.edu

Marin’s Page


Amelia Katanski

Amelia Katanski photo

Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7045
Office: Humphrey House, room 207
Email: amelia.katanski@kzoo.edu

Amelia’s Page

Dr. Katanski is Co-Chair of the
Critical Ethnic Studies Program

Dr. Katanski is on leave for the Fall 2021 quarter


Bruce Mills

Bruce Mills 3

Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7037
Office: Humphrey House, room 208
Email: bruce.mills@kzoo.edu Phone:

Bruce’s Page


Andrew Mozina

Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7041
Office: Humphrey House, room 210
Email: andrew.mozina@kzoo.edu

Andy’s Page

Dr. Mozina is the Junior Class Dean


Shanna Salinas

Shanna Salinas

Associate Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7115
Office: Humphrey House, room 108
Email: shanna.salinas@kzoo.edu

Shanna’s Page

Dr. Salinas is Co-Chair
of the Critical Ethnic Studies Program


Babli Sinha

Babli Sinha

Professor of English
and Department Chair

Phone: 269.337.7075
Office: Humphrey House, room 203
Email: babli.sinha@kzoo.edu

Babli’s Page

Dr. Sinha is the Director of the
Film and Media Studies Concentration


Amy Smith

Amy Smith

Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7036
Office: Humphrey House, room 213
Email: amy.smith@kzoo.edu

Amy’s Page


Mika Kennedy

Visiting Assistant Professor
2020-2022

Phone: 269.337.7437
Office: Humphrey House, room 205
Email: Mika.Kennedy@kzoo.edu

About Mika

Mika Kennedy is from the San Francisco Bay Area. She earned her PhD in English from the University of Michigan and, prior to that, her BA in Literature from UC San Diego. Her teaching centers race, ethnicity, and Indigeneity in American literature and the environmental humanities. She’s taught courses about environmental justice in the literature of cities; Asian American literature and culture; and climate justice. Her research follows a similar framework: Dr. Kennedy’s current book project is about the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans, and the ways this experience intersects not only with fantasies of the Western frontier, but also the fight for Native sovereignty. Her research has been supported by the James A. Winn Fellowship at the University of Michigan Institute for the Humanities, a Rackham Humanities Research Candidacy Fellowship, and the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies, among others.

Dr. Kennedy is also devoted to public-facing work, particularly within the Japanese American and Nikkei communities. For the past several years, she has been the co-curator of a museum exhibit titled Exiled to Motown, which brings to life the history of the Japanese American community in metro Detroit. You can learn more about the project here.


Scott Bade

Visiting Assistant Professor
2021-2022

Phone: 269.337.7038
Office: Humphrey House, Room 211
Email: Scott.Bade@kzoo.edu


Deia Sportel

Deia Sportel

Academic Office Coordinator

Phone: 269.337.7043
Office: Humphrey House, room 110
Email: Deia.Sportel@kzoo.edu

About Deia

Deia has a Bachelors of Science degree in Business Management from Cornerstone University and is a Certified Green Dot Instructor.